CEU Requirements for Educators and Professionals
In response to a May 2015 inquiry, AACS Received responses from member schools in the following states:
Alabama – None
Arkansas – None to renew Cosmetology, Nail Tech or Aesthetic licenses.
Massage Therapy: 18 hours every two years.
Colorado – None
Connecticut – None
Georgia – See below.
Professionals: 5 hours per every 2 year renewal from a GA state board approved provider.
Instructors: 15 hours per every 2 year renewal.
Massage therapists: 24 hours per every 2 year renewal through the Georgia Massage Board. 12 hours must be hands-on, the other 12 can be online courses.
Idaho – None
Illinois – See below.
Instructor: 24 hours every 2 years (10 hrs in Teaching Methodology).
Licensed Cosmetologists: 14 hours every 2 years.
Indiana – None
Iowa – The state requires 8 hours every other year (2 hrs Iowa Law, 6 hours in discipline). This applies to all Cosmetology arts and sciences licenses (cos, est, nt, instructor).
Kansas – See below.
Salon Professionals: None
Instructors: 20 hours every two years
Louisiana – See below.
Licensed Educators: 16 hours every 2 years in the discipline they are certified to teach in
Licensed Cosmetologist/Esthetician: no CEU requirement
Massachusetts – Note at this time. However, all regulations are currently under review.
Michigan – None
New Hampshire – 12 hours are required every 2 years for license renewal of Cosmetology educators.
New Jersey – None
Ohio – All licensees holding an active basic or managing license in Cosmetology, Hair Design, Natural Hair Styling, Manicuring, or Esthetics are required to receive eight (8) hours of CE per license. Of those eight (8) hours one (1) hour must be devoted to education on human trafficking.
Additionally, licensees who hold an Independent Contractors license are required to have two (2) of the eight (8) hours devoted to education in business, state laws and rules, and tax information.
Licensees who hold an instructors license are required to obtain eight (8) hours of CE designated has “Instructor Only” CE. This CE cannot be in combination with other scope of practice material and must be related to the instruction of cosmetology or a branch of cosmetology.
Pennsylvania – None for Cosmetology, Esthetics, Nail Technology, Natural Hair Braiding, Barber or Teacher licensure renewal.
Massage Therapy: 24 hours every two years. 4 must be in ethics. None can be for educational methodology. Up to 8 hours may be done online.
South Carolina – See below.
Licensed Instructors: Originally, Instructors were required to take 15 hours per year. In June 2010 the regulations changed to 12 hours. The intention was that the number of hours required was 12 hours per year. However, the regulations were not written clearly. Now, a licensed Instructor is required to take only 12 hours per two year licensing period like all other licensed professionals in the industry. This could be 6 hours per year or 12 hours on the renewal year.
Licensed Cosmetologists, Estheticians, Nail Technicians: Must obtain a total of 12 hours of continuing education per 2 year licensing period. This could be 6 hours per year or 12 hours on the renewal year. Six out of the 12 hours may be completed online with an approved association. The remaining 6 hours must be completed in person.
Tennessee – Teachers are required to attain 16 hours of state approved continuing education every two years. There are no CEUs for salon professionals.
Utah – No state requirement for professionals. Utah requires all schools be accredited – therefore requiring the 12 hours of CE of which 4 are teaching methodology through NACCAS.
Virginia – None
Washington – None
Wisconsin – See below.
Aesthetics and cosmetology practitioner and manager, electrology and manicuring licenses: A minimum of 4 hours during each biennial reporting period, including: one hour reviewing the laws governing the cosmetology professions and establishments, and three hours in safety, sanitation, and infection control.
Instructors: no additional CEUs are required.
Previous received information indicating that NO CEU’s are required to renew an educators license. We have no information on file for professional licenses in these states.
- New York
- Rhode Island
Previous received information indicating that there ARE CEU requirements for educators to renew their license. We have no information on file for professional licenses in these states.
- #of CEU credits for educators/how often: Required, but no minimum hours or timeframe.
- Pre-approval for cont. education/approval agency: Each Instructor shall maintain their knowledge by completing CEU courses in their subject area, classroom management or other courses related to teaching.
- #of CEU credits for educators/how often: Yes, 8 hrs and aids education every two years
- Pre-approval for cont. education/approval agency: Yes, Board of Cosmetology
- CEU credits required for other admin. staff: Yes, they just made CE for admissions mandatory
- #of CEU credits for educators/how often: 45 CEUs every 3 years
- Pre-approval for cont. education/approval agency: The courses need to be preapproved by the MN board of Cosmetology Examiners 1 month prior. Attendees names and proof of attendance is then sent to the board.
- #of CEU credits for educators/how often: Requires 12 CEU’s every 2 years for instructors only No CEU’s for Cosmetologist
- Pre-approval for cont. education/approval agency: Yes, by Missouri State Board
- #of CEU credits for educators/how often: Yes – 30 hrs. every two years
- Pre-approval for cont. education/approval agency: Yes, courses need to be approved if they are not listed on the web site as already approved classes
- #of CEU credits for educators/how often: Yes, 8 hours in a 2 year period
- Pre-approval for cont. education/approval agency: Yes the Department of Health and Human Services – Regulation and Licensure
- #of CEU credits for educators/how often: Instructors need 15 CEU’s a year for a total of at least 30 at renewal time since renewals are every two years.
- Pre-approval for cont. education/approval agency: Nevada State Board of Cosmetology
- #of CEU credits for educators/how often: Yes, 8 CEU’s every year for instructors.
- #of CEU credits for educators/how often: Yes, renewal every 3 years need 30 CEU’s NACCAS 12 per year
- Pre-approval for cont. education/approval agency: Yes, Oregon Dept. Of Education
- #of CEU credits for educators/how often: 12 hours of training each year.
- #of CEU credits for educators/how often: Yes, on or after Sept. 1, 2008 a licensee must complete a total of 6 hrs. of CE through department-approved courses. 2hr. in sanitation,(required under the act and 16 Texas Admin. Code, Chpt. 83.), 2hrs in methods of teaching.
The representatives for the following areas did not respond or we are still gathering information:
- New Mexico
- North Carolina
- Puerto Rico
- West Virginia