Committees

AACS Tactical Committees 2012

Business Affairs

Don Yearwood, Carousel Beauty Colleges – Treasurer / Business Affairs Team Leader
Voice: 937-271-1479; Cell: 937-271-1479
dfY1214@aol.com

Affinity

Cathy Koluch, The Studio Academy of Beauty
Voice: 480-857-1138;
cathy@thestudioacademyofbeauty.com

This team evaluates proposals submitted for consideration to the Affinity Program. In order to enhance the value of American Association of Cosmetology Schools membership, the Association has entered into formal agreements with preferred service providers and other non-profits and associations.  The purpose of the program is to establish a member benefit designed to make the professional lives of AACS members better, easier and more efficient.

Associate

Co-Leader: Steve Reiss, Modern Salon
Cell: 312-953-5082
sreiss@vancepublishing.com 
Co-Leader: Tonya Hanna, American Crew
Voice: 800-598-2739
tonya.hanna@us.thecolomergroup.com  

This team represents the interests of AACS Associate members.

By-Laws

Nancy Lease, Lease Consulting LLC
Voice/Cell: 303-968-6721
TalentWest@comcast.net

This team reviews the association By-Laws on a regular basis and makes recommendations to the Board of Directors for updates/changes to propose to the general membership. In addition, this team is responsible for keeping the President and the Board as a whole apprised of any potential violation of the By-Laws as may be consider in a board or team action or proposed action.

Membership

Mez Varol, International Academy
Voice: 386-767-4600 x226
mez@intl-academy.com

This team’s main function is to assist and collaborate with the AACS office in the recruitment and retention of School and Associate members.

Public Relations

Gerard McAvey, Milady
Voice: 800-998-7498; Cell: 858-525-2210
gerard.mcavey@cengage.com

This team’s main focus is to brand AACS as being a powerful advocate and voice for transforming the cosmetology, beauty and wellness professions. Through its efforts the Public Relations Team will assist the membership in branding the hair, beauty and wellness profession as premier careers of choice. The PR Team will also coordinate the activities of the Beauty Changes Lives initiative.

Events

Joe Carretta, Empire Education Group
Voice: 570-429-4321
jcarretta@empire.edu

Annual Convention

David Yocum, Bellus Academy
Voice: 785-539-1837
dyocum@bellusacademy.edu

This team is charged with the overall planning and management of the AACS Annual Convention & Expo.

Cosmetology Educators of America (CEA)

Carol Woodard, Ogle School
Voice: 817-804-6708; Cell: 817-505-8161
cwoodard@ogleschool.com

This team is primarily responsible for the planning and management of the Annual CEA Convention. An important responsibility for team members is to share knowledge and experience in the selection of convention topics and speakers. See Appendix Z for CEA benefits, Appendix AA for CEA subscription application and Appendix HH for the CEA Code of Ethics.

Skin Care School Council

Jesse Cormier, ASCP
Voice: 800-789-0411
jcormier@ascpskincare.com
Co-Leader: Katie Armitage, ASCP
Voice: 800-458-2267
katie@abmp.com

This team represents the interest of schools with skin care programs and works with event committees to include information and resources valuable to skin care schools.

Spring Convention Committee

David Yocum, Bellus Academy
Voice: 785-539-1837
dyocum@bellusacademy.edu

This team plans and organizes the Spring Operations Conference.  Responsibilities include the selection of topics and speakers.

Government/Regulatory Oversight

Robert Passage, Pivot Point International – Vice President / Gov/Reg Team Leader
Voice: (800) 886-4247; Cell: 773-255-7900
rpassage@pivot-point.com or passage.robert@comcast.net

Government Relations

Gregory Jones, Sunstate Academy
Voice: 239-278-1311; Cell: 239-872-9532
gjones@sunstate.edu
Co-Leader: Tony Fragomeni, Empire Education Group
Voice: 201-690-6964; Cell: 845-629-3148
afragomeni@empire.edu

This team is the official representative of AACS and its membership to the Executive and Legislative branches of the Federal Government and the U.S. Department of Education. Their responsibilities include reviewing, analyzing and responding to issues affecting member schools and students.

State Relations

Brenda Scharman, Cameo College Of Essential Beauty
Voice: 801-747-5700; Cell: 801-604-3455
bgscharman@msn.com
Co-Leader: Tricia Seil, Capri Oak Forest College
Voice: 708-687-3020
tricia@capribeautycollege.com

This team’s responsibilities include the monitoring of regulatory and legislative issues at the state level and communicating those issues to the membership. A major goal is to create a network of advocates/watchdogs across the country who can mobilize our membership on important issues affecting their schools.

Accreditation

Kevin Pernetta, Empire Education Group
Voice: 800-223-3271 x2658
kperneta@empire.edu

This team’s purpose is to improve the general knowledge, participation and appreciation of the post-secondary accreditation process regardless of the accrediting body.

Ad Hoc/Misc

Pioneers

Mike Vanacore
Voice: 718-273-1735
mvanacore@msn.com

The Pioneers are the leaders in our industry who have paved the way for our current and future success.

Finance Committee

Joe Carretta, Empire Education Group
Voice: 570-429-4321
jcarretta@empire.edu

This is a committee of the board of directors to monitor the financial health and stability of the organization.