Committees

AACS 2014-2015 Committees

BUSINESS AFFAIRS

Frank Trieu, Treasurer, Evergreen Beauty College
425-268-6533 | frank@evergreenbeauty.edu

Affinity

Cathy Koluch, The Studio Academy of Beauty
480-857-1138 | cathy@thestudioacademyofbeauty.com
This team evaluates proposals submitted for consideration to the Affinity Program. In order to enhance the value of American Association of Cosmetology Schools membership, the Association has entered into formal agreements with preferred service providers and other non-profits and associations.  The purpose of the program is to establish a member benefit designed to make the professional lives of AACS members better, easier and more efficient.

Associate

Co-Leader: Steve Reiss, Modern Salon
312-953-5082 | sreiss@vancepublishing.com
Co-Leader: Tonya Hanna, American Crew
800-598-2739 | tonya.hanna@us.thecolomergroup.com

This team represents the interests of AACS Associate members.

By-Laws

Nancy Lease
303-968-6721 | nlease1@msn.com
This team reviews the association By-Laws on a regular basis and makes recommendations to the Board of Directors for updates/changes to propose to the general membership. In addition, this team is responsible for keeping the President and the Board as a whole apprised of any potential violation of the By-Laws as may be consider in a board or team action or proposed action.

Education

Fran Brown, Paul Mitchell Schools
brown.fran@comcast.net
This committee’s main function is address the needs of educators.

Membership

Mez Varol, International Academy
386-767-4600 x226 | mez@intl-academy.com
This team’s main function is to assist and collaborate with the AACS office in the recruitment and retention of School and Associate members.

Public Relations

Gerard McAvey, Milady
800-998-7498; (cell) 858-525-2210 | gerard.mcavey@cengage.com
This team’s main focus is to brand AACS as being a powerful advocate and voice for transforming the cosmetology, beauty and wellness professions. Through its efforts the Public Relations Team will assist the membership in branding the hair, beauty and wellness profession as premier careers of choice. The PR Team will also coordinate the activities of the Beauty Changes Lives initiative.

EVENTS

Lynelle Lynch, Secretary, Bellus Academy
858-248-4450, (cell)858-525-2210 | llynch@bellusacademy.edu

AACS Annual Convention & Expo

David Yocum, Bellus Academy
785-539-1837 | dyocum@bellusacademy.edu

Co-Chair: Gerard McAvey, Milady
800-998-7498 x2420 | gerard,mcavey@cengage.com
Co-Chair: Debbie Mack, Pivot Point International
847-866-0500 x7368 | dmack@pivot-point.com

CEA Annual Convention

Carol Woodard, Ogle School
817-999-5959 | cwoodard@ogleschool.com
This team is primarily responsible for the planning and management of the Annual CEA Convention. An important responsibility for team members is to share knowledge and experience in the selection of convention topics and speakers. See Appendix Z for CEA benefits, Appendix AA for CEA subscription application and Appendix HH for the CEA Code of Ethics.

Skin Care School Council

Jesse Cormier, ASCP
800-789-0411 | jcormier@ascpskincare.com
Co-Chair: Katie Armitage, ASCP
800-458-2267 | katie@abmp.com

This team represents the interest of schools with skin care programs and works with event committees to include information and resources valuable to skin care schools.

Spring Conference

Steven Dawson
803-798-8515 x105 | sdawson@kennethshuler.com

Co-Chair: David Yocum, Bellus Academy
785-539-1837 | dyocum@bellusacademy.edu
Co-Chair: Mike Vanacore
718-273-1735 | mvanacore@msn.com

GOVERNMENT/REGULATORY OVERSIGHT

Robert Passage, Vice President, Pivot Point International
773-255-7900 | rpassage@pivot-point.com

Government Relations

Gregory Jones, Sunstate Academy
239-278-1311, (cell) 239-872-9532 | gjones@sunstate.edu
This team is the official representative of AACS and its membership to the Executive and Legislative branches of the Federal Government and the U.S. Department of Education. Their responsibilities include reviewing, analyzing and responding to issues affecting member schools and students.

State Relations

Brenda Scharman, Cameo College Of Essential Beauty
801-747-5700, (cell) 801-604-3455 | bgscharman@msn.com
Co-Leader: Tricia Seil, Capri Oak Forest College
708-687-3020 | tricia@capribeautycollege.com

This team’s responsibilities include the monitoring of regulatory and legislative issues at the state level and communicating those issues to the membership. A major goal is to create a network of advocates/watchdogs across the country who can mobilize our membership on important issues affecting their schools.

Accreditation

Kevin Pernetta, Empire Education Group
800-223-3271 x2658 | kperneta@empire.edu
This team’s purpose is to improve the general knowledge, participation and appreciation of the post-secondary accreditation process regardless of the accrediting body.

AD HOC/MISC

Finance

Frank Trieu, Treasurer, Evergreen Beauty College
425-268-6533 | frank@evergreenbeauty.edu
This is a committee of the board of directors to monitor the financial health and stability of the organization.

Leadership Selection

Christine Gordon, Graham Webb Int’l Academy Of Hair
703-243-9322 x112, (cell) 703-477-6843 | c.gordon@grahamwebbacademy.com
This is a committee of current and past board members that identifies and develops future leaders of the association. They also review board applications of members requesting to run for office.

Pioneers

Mike Vanacore
Voice: 718-273-1735
mvanacore@msn.com
The Pioneers are the leaders in our industry who have paved the way for our current and future success.

Diversity Task Force

Tam Nguyen, Advance Beauty College
714-390-9312 | tam@advancebeautycollege.com
Tasked with Developing a Position Statement on behalf of AACS to be presented to the BOD for consideration. This will include research to see if by-laws may need changing in the future.

Career School Task Force

Frank Trieu, Treasurer, Evergreen Beauty College
425-268-6533 | frank@evergreenbeauty.edu
Tasked with adding the name change question to become the Career School/Assn. Continue working with Massage Envy. Begin exploring, with the help of Tom Netting, other types of career schools, which may fit AACS.